Book Finder
    
 
> Art > Artists & Musicians & A-Z > Close Chuck
 

Chuck Close: Self-Portraits 1967-2005
Chuck Close
0935640800
August 2005
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
A celebrated, popular, and influential figure in American art, Chuck Close has focused exclusively, and with great innovation, on the genre of portraiture. This exhibition, co-organized by the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, explores the artist's work in self-portraiture over four decades and across a variety of media, including painting, drawing, photography, collage, and printmaking. The first comprehensive museum survey of Close's self-portraits, the exhibition and its accompanying publication offer a fascinating glimpse of an artist's self-examination and evolution over time and elucidate his unbounded, process-driven experimentation with media and techniques. Working with the seemingly narrow subject of his own face, Close has produced a richly varied trove that ranges...


Kid's Cookbook: A Great Book for Kids Who Love to Cook!
Chuck Williams (Editor)
0848726073
May 2002
Other Format
·
 
Book Description
Designed especially for kids ages 9 and up, The Kids Cookbook is packed with kid-friendly recipes-and great photos to match. Each recipe includes an equipment list and all instruction young cooks need to have a great time whipping up something delicious. (Super-easy recipes are flagged, so kids can choose their challenges. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From the Publisher
Geared towards kids ages 9 and up, The Kids Cookbook is all about having a great time in the kitchen. From the best-ever Blueberry Muffins to a Classic Turkey Club, from grown-up Fettuccine Alfredo to Brownie and Ice Cream Sandwiches, this book is bursting with imaginative recipes that have tons of kid-appeal! Give your future chefs a head start in the basics of cooking with this...


Close Reading: Chuck Close and the Art of the Self-Portrait
Martin L. Friedman
0810959208
November 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
"Inspiration is for amateurs," according to Chuck Close, one of the most influential and pioneering figurative painters of our time, because "waiting around to be hit on the head by a lightning bolt, you get nothing done.... Ideas flow out of the working process, out of what you have already done." Friedman, former director of the Walker Art Center and longtime friend of Close, offers revealing details of the artist's life including excerpts from personal conversations between the two (friends for nearly four decades), an examination of how Close perfected the technique for his epic-scale portraits and discussions with 10 distinguished artists (and Close subjects) including Jasper Johns, Franceso Clemente and Kiki Smith. Using accessible prose, Friedman offers personal glimpses into everything from the atmosphere...


Chuck Close Up Close
Jan Greenberg
0613284453
June 2000
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
According to PW's boxed review, "This beautiful and inspiring book, an ideal example of an artist biography, inspires readers to consider the possibilities of their own creativity." Ages 8-12. (June) Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal
Grade 3 Up?Based on interviews, this is an inspiring look at the contemporary artist who struggled with learning disabilities as a youngster, became a celebrated painter in the late 1960s, and later overcame paralysis to continue creating huge portraits in which the image is created by a multitude of small abstract units. Sometimes Close makes the abstract units by inking his finger and pressing it on the canvas over and over....


All I Did Was Ask: Conversations with Writers, Actors, Musicians, and Artists
Terry Gross
0786888202
September 2005
Paperback
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
Conducting a good interview requires exhaustive research, good timing, the ability to steer the interview back on course when it meanders, a knack for close listening and thinking about the next question, flexibility and editing skills. Gross, the polite and generous host of NPR's Fresh Air, is a pro, and here she collects some of her favorite interviews with people in the arts. The result is a wide-ranging and entertaining look into the creative process. With a few exceptions, the interviews are from the show's national broadcast debut year in 1987, but they never seem dated, as many of the guests are still active or well known, and the topics are timeless. Whether she's asking Johnny Cash about the difference between a singer and a song stylist, discussing the role of class in British actor Michael Caine's life...


HTML, XHTML, and CSS Bible
Bryan Pfaffenberger
0764557394
July 2004
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
An expanded, updated, and retitled edition of HTML Bible, examining HTML, XHTML-a set of extensions to HTML to make it more like XML-and cascading style sheets (CSS), which provide a simple way to add consistent formatting to HTML Web documents Focusing on reader feedback and changing industry trends, this new edition is a major overhaul that addresses the extensive changes in Web development Shows readers the best, most efficient way to use HTML and examines which peripheral technologies are worth learning for the long run Features "before and after" pictures that show the results of improved Web page coding Offers continued coverage of key topics, including site administration, dynamic data-driven pages, and many others, in addition to new sections on hot new topics such as blogs and content...


Chuck Close: A Retrospective
Chuck Close
0870700669
January 2002
Hardcover
·
 
From Library Journal
This well-produced, standard-format catalog is appropriately direct in summing up the career of one of America's great contemporary painters. For three decades Close has painted one subject?the human head?in a strikingly immediate, deceptively dispassionate manner. In the 27 years since his first museum show, he has struggled to overcome the label of photorealist, and the subtle but constant evolution demonstrated in this retrospective should finally prove that he never really belonged in that particular school. Instead, a man concerned with the vagaries of paint and its application, with the process of seeing, and with the creative process is what emerges from the 60 extremely rich reproductions, the three essays by Museum of Modern Art curators, and the candid interview. Complete end matter closes the volume. A...


The Portraits Speak
Chuck Close
0923183175
Feb 1998
Hardcover
·
 
From Library Journal
The recent retrospective at the Museum of Modern Art and the accompanying catalog (LJ 5/1/98) offered an occasion for viewers to immerse themselves in the rich variances of Chuck Close's style, which evolved even while he stuck with a single subject, large-scale portraits of faces. But even a careful review of these works does not reveal one key facet?Close only paints his good friends. Many of his subjects can trace a relationship through decades back to school days at Yale, and most are artists themselves. This latest in a series of artist-conceived books from A.R.T. Press not only outlines the course of 27 such friendships but brings together in a single volume many of the most important artists of a generation, e.g., Nancy Graves, Richard Serra, Alex Katz, William Wegman, Richard Artschwager, and Roy...


Chuck Close Prints: Process and Collaboration
Terrie Sultan
0691115761
October 2003
Hardcover
·
 
Ted Loos, The New York Times Book Review
"Chuck Close, the great postmodern pointillist printmaker, is a methodical perfectionist."

Review
Judith K. Brodsky, Founding Director, The Rutgers Center for Innovative Print and Paper : Close's relationship to printmaking is in the tradition of Durer, Rembrandt, Goya, and Picasso--who all used printmaking for its unique qualities as a creative process and as a means of solving esthetic issues. The interviews give a real sense of Close's enthusiasm for printmaking and for process, and the detailed illustrations are fascinating.

See all Editorial Reviews


Chuck Close Prints: Process and Collaboration
Terrie Sultan
069111577X
October 2003
Paperback
·
 
Ted Loos, The New York Times Book Review
"Chuck Close, the great postmodern pointillist printmaker, is a methodical perfectionist."

Review
Judith K. Brodsky, Founding Director, The Rutgers Center for Innovative Print and Paper : Close's relationship to printmaking is in the tradition of Durer, Rembrandt, Goya, and Picasso--who all used printmaking for its unique qualities as a creative process and as a means of solving esthetic issues. The interviews give a real sense of Close's enthusiasm for printmaking and for process, and the detailed illustrations are fascinating.

See all Editorial Reviews


Chuck Close
Chuck Close
1597110183
Nov 2006
Hardcover
·
 


Parkett
Chuck Close
3907582101
Dec 2000
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Presenting unique and in-depth collaborations and editions with leading international artists, "Parkett #60" features Chuck Close, Diana Thater, and Luc Tuymans, three artists from very different backgrounds whose works have all moved towards painting's basic elements of light and dark. Contributing writers include Francine Prose and Richard Shiff on Close; Sara Arrhenius, Jeremy Gilbert-Rolfe and Regina Hasslinger on Thater; and Laura Hoptman, Gerardo Mosquera and Hans Rudolf Reust on Tuymans. This issue also contains essays on David Bunn, Jeremy Deller, and Paul Etienne Lincoln, as well as a conversation between Chuck Close and Elizabeth Peyton and an interview with Close by Bice Curiger. "Parkett #61" will be published in May 2001, with collaboration artists Liam Gillick, Sarah Morris, Bridget Riley, and Matthew...


Economic Apartheid in America: A Primer on Economic Inequality and Insecurity
Chuck Collins
1595580158
October 2005
Paperback
·
 
The Beacon
Hard-hitting and insightful.

Book Description
Revised following the 2004 presidential election, a graphic portrait of the growing gap between the rich and everyone else in America.• In 1968, African Americans earned 55 cents for every dollar of white income. At the current pace, it would take 581 years for African Americans to achieve income parity. • States including Alabama, Tennessee, and Virginia tax food and basic needs at a higher rate than income from investments. • Welfare for very low income people totaled $193 billion in 2004. Aid to "dependent corporations" exceeded $800 billion.This updated edition of the widely touted Economic Apartheid in America looks at the causes and manifestations of wealth disparities in the United States, including tax policy in...


Atelier Adamson
Atelier Adamson
386521150X
August 2005
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
Based in Washington, D.C., Atelier Adamson is considered by many to be the world's highest-quality digital printmaker, and given the studio's collaboration with some of the best-known and most influential artists of our time, that's a hard claim to dispute. Adamson Editions has grown since 1979 from the passion of one man, David Adamson, and his lithography studio into a major force in the contemporary art scene. In addition, Adamson Gallery is dedicated to showing the talents of outstanding international artists as well as showcasing collaborative work from Adamson Editions digital atelier. This book accompanies an exhibition at the Maison Européene de la Photographie and presents some of the finest work of recent years by the studio and its artists, including selections of the work of Chuck Close, William...

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.