Book Finder
    
 
> Art > Artists & Musicians & A-Z > Coe Sue
 

Dangerous Drawings
Andrea Juno
0965104281
Aug 1997
Paperback
·
 
Book Review
Based on the list of cartoonists and artists interviewed in Dangerous Drawings, you know it's bound to be a great book. But as you pour through the discussions, you'll realize that it's far more than that. The questions posed by RE/Search Books cofounder Andrea Juno are always insightful, and relatively few punches are pulled. The 14 comix and graphix artists interviewed--including Art Spiegelman, Dan Clowes, Julie Doucet, Chris Ware, Diane Noomin, Chester Brown, Ted Rall, and Phoebe Gloeckner--offer extremely personal revelations about art and life. Taken together, the thoughts of these artists form an interesting singular commentary on the state of comics and graphic literature: by using a popular art form that, for the most part, remains outside of the establishment's critical eye, these cartoonists are able to...


Sheep of Fools
Sue Coe
1560976608
Nov 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
Longtime activist illustrator Coe has produced a striking new work. In a storybook format, Coe details the horrific conditions of the sheep industry. The book begins with a series of annotated songs complete with rhyming couplets: "Song of the Medieval Shepherd," "Song of the Venture Capitalist" and finally "Song of the Modern Shepherd," all describing the processes and economies behind the slaughter of sheep. The middle section is taken up with the gory details of the ocean and land transportation of the herds, including near-Biblical accounts of sinking ships and tens of thousands of drowned sheep. The last stop is the slaughter and serving of the animals. Coe accomplishes this narrative through layered, exacting images that combine a precise attention to detail with an expressionistic sense of mood and...


Dead Meat
Sue Coe
156858041X
Feb 1996
Paperback
·
 
Book Review
British artist Sue Coe is well known for her social and political paintings and illustrations, which appear regularly in such publications as the New York Times and the New Yorker. Her latest effort is the disturbing book Dead Meat, a visual record of Coe's visits to 40 slaughterhouses, cattle ranches, and hatcheries to document the grisly practices of the meat-packing industry. Although she was not allowed to photograph on the premises, she was permitted to draw and sketch, and much of this work is jarringly graphic. Incorporated with the artwork are her thoughts and observations laid out in diary form. Even if you don't agree with Coe's politics, this is social and political art at its most powerful, in the tradition of Goya, Daumier, and Rockwell Kent. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition....


Pit's Letter
Sue Coe
1568581637
June 2000
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
Like a latter-day Goya, Sue Coe is driven to create moral works, from stark renditions of slaughterhouse brutality to accounts of abused domestic animals and laboratory testing. In Pit's Letter, a hapless canine describes her desolate life to her only surviving sister. She recounts her puppyhood and upbringing in her human family, her heartless banishment, and finally her suffering and death at the hands of the experimenting scientists at Eden Biotechnology. Ironically, her former master winds up in the same situation: an accidental scratching infects him with a pathogen - and man and beast share the same fate.


Bully!
Judith Brody
1568583230
July 2004
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Sue Coe sets her sights on our president, casting him as Bully, the ringleader of a nightmarish carnival. Judith Brody's lyrical prose set the stage for Coe's gorgeously rendered paintings, and both are juxtaposed against choice quotations from the architects of the Bush agenda. With a timely release for what promises to be a polarized 2004 election year, Bully! is one of the most politically charged, unabashedly left-leaning books of the season.

About the Author
Sue Coe has become well known in at lest three seemingly different fields: in the art world she has exhibited widely with over 30 exhibitions; as an animal rights icon, with her bold and unforgettable images of vivisection and slaughterhouses; and, finally, in comics from her work in Art Spiegelman's ground-breaking...


Beside the Hemlock Garden
James Strecker
0889627932
February 2003
Paperback
·
 


Fine Machine Sewing: Easy Ways to Get the Look of Hand Finishing and Embellishing
Carol Laflin Ahles
1561584878
April 2001
Hardcover
·
 
From Library Journal
Ahles is a popular teacher of heirloom and creative sewing and a frequent contributor to Threads magazine. Since the publication of the first edition of Fine Machine Sewing (LJ 12/96), this book has become the bible of heirloom sewing techniques, with an emphasis on pintucking, fagoting, and decorative hemming. This second edition has been revised to include new techniques and information on newly available sewing machines, as well as an additional chapter on replicating vintage lace and entredeux. An essential purchase for sewing and costuming collections in public and academic libraries. Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Book Description
Pintucking. Fagoting. Parisian hemstitching. These are some of the techniques that can turn an ordinary garment...


Introduction to Problem Solving Using Java
Elliot B. Koffman
0201357437
August 1998
Textbook Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Object-Oriented Programming
This book presents a careful balance between traditional problem-solving techniques and object-oriented design. Embracing the object-oriented paradigm, the authors introduce objects early (Chapter 2) and use them throughout, introducing features as needed in a gentle manner. Chapters 4 - 7 focus on the traditional data and control structures, using objects as needed. Chapter 8 provides a more in-depth study of object-oriented design, providing detailed coverage of visibility, polymorphism, and inheritance. Applications and Applets
Focusing on applications early, the book supports user interaction by providing a package called simpleIO. Applets are first introduced in Chapter 4 where the authors use them in an optional section on graphics to introduce the AWT and its features ...


Blab!, Volume 14
Monte Beauchamp (Editor)
1560975571
February 2004
Paperback
·
 
Book Review
Inside Blab! #6's super-hip cover by Richard Sala, you'll find a showcase for cutting-edge cartoonists. Skip Williamson introduces us to his drunken cartoon libertine "Necropolis Keester." Doug Allen's lovable character Steven makes another Blab! appearance in "Steven--in the Showdown." Frank Stack and Joe Coleman have illustrated character "portrait" prose pieces. Party-girl Mary Fleener has a two-page strip on the inside-front and inside-back covers called "As American as Mom, Apple Pie and Martinis." In his skewed style Richard Sala presents his comics story "Where Is Christine Brooder?," featuring a washed-up detective, a mysterious "pillow killer," and a reference to Gogol's Bird Museum. And finally, balancing out the humor of Gary Lieb's...


Blab!, Volume 15
Monte Beauchamp
1560976136
December 2004
Paperback
·
 
From Booklist
Given the conservatism of the comic-book marketplace, cutting-edge anthologies are extremely iffy. That makes the would-be annual Blab!'s 15-number run all the more remarkable, especially since, over the years, it has published more and more noncomics graphics. This edition moves back toward comics narratives, albeit unconventional ones. Standouts include Peter Kuper's succinct depiction of the corruption of the American dream; Sue Coe's harrowing indictment of the food industry for the rise of avian flu; another of Mark Landman's Fetal Elvis adventures; and Spain's autobiographical account of the artistic path that led him to become a 1960s underground cartoonist. The avant-garde is represented by two-page spreads by such Blab! stalwarts as Gary Baseman, Blanquet, David Goldin, and the Clayton...

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.