Book Finder
    
 
> Biographies & Autobiography > Famous People Biographies A-Z > Columbus Christopher Biography
 

Christopher Columbus
Lynn Hoogenboom
140423036X
Jan 2006
Hardcover
·
 


The Last Voyage of Columbus: Being the Epic Tale of the Great Captain's Fourth Expedition, Including Accounts of Swordfight, Mutiny, Shipwreck, Gold, War, Hurricane, and Discovery
Martin Dugard
0316828831
June 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
"For a guy who's been dead five centuries," says Dugard, "Columbus was very much a physical presence as I wrote this book." The author's Columbus—who engages in swashbuckling deeds of derring-do as he explores the Caribbean and Central America in his fourth and final voyage (1502–1504)—is a guy's guy. Spurning views of Columbus as a harbinger of genocide, Dugard (Into Africa, etc.) senses virile, visionary boldness, a man "fuelled by focus and challenge." Unsullied by too much modern scholarship, this book is at heart a recasting of Washington Irving and Samuel Eliot Morison updated to appeal to readers of GQ and Sports Illustrated (for which Dugard has written). His is a sexy tale: Columbus flirts with the (much romanticized) queen Isabella; nautical mapmaking is "one of the world's sexiest new...


A Picture Book of Christopher Columbus
David A. Adler
082340949X
March 1992
Paperback
·
 
From School Library Journal
Grade 1-3-- Adler includes all the important information about this explorer's early life and later achievements, but his writing style is a bit drier than in the other series entries. He mentions that Columbus's men were cruel to the Indians in his absence and consequently were killed, but otherwise does not convey much sense of the danger involved in the voyages or give many clues to Columbus's character or personality. The Wallners' illustrations, as in the earlier biographies, are framed watercolors that surround the text. They offer a delightful look at Renaissance dress and housing and add immeasurably to the spare text. A list of important dates is appended, and a map of the first voyage is included. Both the text and the illustrations are superior to Robert Young's Christopher Columbus (Silver Pr,...


Meet Christopher Columbus
James T. DeKay
0375812105
July 2001
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
When Christopher Columbus was young, he worked for his father, making cloth. But he did not want to be a cloth-maker all his life. He wanted to see new lands and have adventures. He wanted to be a sailor! By the time he was 25, Christopher had sailed to France, Africa, and Greece. He had seen strange cities and had had many adventures. But his greatest adventure would come when he set out for China and found a whole new world instead.

Card catalog description
An easy-to-read biography of the sailor who never fully recognized the importance of his discovery which changed history. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

See all Editorial Reviews


Christopher Columbus
Mary Dodson Wade
0516277693
September 2003
Paperback
·
 
Card catalog description
Presents a brief look at the life of Christopher Columbus and his search for a new route to the Indies.


Where Do You Think You're Going, Christopher Columbus
Jean Fritz
0698115805
September 1997
Paperback
·
 
Card catalog description
Discusses the voyages of Christopher Columbus who determined to beat everyone in the race to the Indies. --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.


Christopher Columbus
Mary Dodson Wade
051622851X
March 2003
Library Binding
·
 
Card catalog description
Presents a brief look at the life of Christopher Columbus and his search for a new route to the Indies.


Christopher Columbus
Peggy Pancella
1403437009
August 2003
Hardcover
·
 


So You Want to Be an Explorer
Judith St. George
0399238689
September 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From School Library Journal
Grade 1-4–Another offering from the creative team that brought readers So You Want to Be President? (2000) and So You Want to Be an Inventor? (2002, both Philomel). The artist frames the text with a wordless depiction of a young boy trying on different hats in his room filled with a variety of artifacts. The text then seems to address the daydreaming child directly as he envisions himself setting sail for adventure. Most spreads describe two or more explorers, but only one is depicted. Small's masterful artwork, done in ink, watercolor, and pastel chalk, is full of humorous details. The explorers are primarily European and American, but cover a wide-ranging time period, from Pytheas and Alexander the Great to the present day. A short paragraph describes their claim to fame. The book is intended to...


Christopher Columbus
Peter Roop
0439158079
August 2001
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
The exciting story of Columbus¹s life is told using the journals he kept during his four voyages tot he New World, voyages that would change world history forever. --This text refers to the Board book edition.

Card catalog description
Recounts the life story of the noted explorer, including excerpts from his own writings.


Christopher Columbus
Peter Roop
0439271800
August 2001
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
The exciting story of Columbus¹s life is told using the journals he kept during his four voyages tot he New World, voyages that would change world history forever.

Card catalog description
Recounts the life story of the noted explorer, including excerpts from his own writings. --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.