Book Finder
    
 
> Body Mind & Health > Authors A-Z > Smith Kathy
 

The Fat-Burning Bible
MacKie Shilstone
0471655295
Jan 2005
Hardcover
·
 
Book Review
Ideally, being healthy isn't just about being a certain weight: It's about having all the systems of your body performing at optimum levels for as long a time as possible. Mackie Shilstone, in his role as medical advisor to professional athletes, presents a complex plan in The Fat-Burning Bible that incorporates supplements, sleep and stress management alongside the standards of diet and exercise. The first section of the book helps you establish your honest starting point--it's easy to be at an acceptable weight but have unacceptably high fat percentages, cholesterol or blood sugar. Establishing this point involves a fair amount of measuring and math, and includes checklists that will help you identity potential concerns like Syndrome X or thyroid problems. Diet and nutrition follow; the section encompasses fairly...


Kathy Smith's Moving Through Menopause
Kathy Smith
0446678716
Feb 2002
Paperback
·
 
Book Review
Fitness expert Kathy Smith has written a sensitive and smart book about what she calls the "half-time bell," also known as menopause. Using as examples her own hot flashes, raw nerves, restless nights, and memory misfires, Smith outlines an upbeat, trifaceted program for "taking charge of menopause." She addresses the three themes of midlife transition: hormonal symptoms such as mood swings and night sweats; the need to reflect and create a deeper meaning; and long-term health issues, specifically heart disease and bone loss. Each theme is explored using examples from Smith's experience, questionnaires, self-tests, journal writing, and relevant up-to-date information. Smith details dozens of strategies for taking charge--from herbal remedies to hormone replacement, from illustrated strength training workouts to Kegel...


Kathy Smith's Fitness Makeover: A 10-Week Guide to Exercise and Nutrition That Will Change Your Life
Kathy Smith
0446670499
February 1997
Paperback
·
 
Amazon.com
This is a 10-week beginner's program and training log for women. It's designed to improve muscle tone, cardiovascular fitness, flexibility and body composition, and to allow you to keep track of every repetition of every exercise. Each week on the program features new exercises and focuses on a different aspect of nutrition--fat, protein, water, vitamins. The program is well-organized, clearly outlined, and easy to follow. Best of all, unlike the authors of other eponymous fitness books, Kathy Smith doesn't get in your face on every page; she seems to have presumed you've picked up the book because you want to get in shape first and because she's Kathy Smith second. Good choice, good book.


Kathy Smith's Lift Weights to Lose Weight
Kathy Smith
0446676314
Jan 2001
Paperback
·
 
Book Review
After some 20 years as a highly respected aerobic fitness instructor and health promoter--one who rarely uses the phrase "lose weight"--Kathy Smith is shifting her priorities. "I would never want to choose, but if I could only do one form of training from now on, I'd give up cardio and focus on weight training." A strong statement, indeed! The title of this, her fourth book, suggests Smith's goal is to help exercisers lose weight. But as readers work through the engrossing chapters on physiology, exercise basics, and making the shift from aerobics to weight lifting, Smith says they'll note that weight loss is simply a pleasant by-product of the true benefits generated by this straightforward, nonthreatening weight-lifting program.

Smith believes in the power of consistent, progressive exercise with free weights and...



Hello Kitty Loves School!
Elizabeth Smith
0810992264
June 2005
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Hello Kitty loves school-there are so many fun things to do and learn. In this enjoyable addition to the popular best-selling series, Hello Kitty shows us why she loves school! To showcase their special talents, Hello Kitty and friends will put on a talent show at school. Cathy, Joey and Fifi show friends and family their favorite hobbies-from poetry and gymnastics to chemistry. What surprise will Hello Kitty bring to the talent show? It's easy to see that the activities to do at school are endless. Perfect for back-to-school or Valentine's Day, this is a book that makes going to school exciting!

About the Author
Jean Hirashima has illustrated several books featuring Hello Kitty, including the board books Hello Kitty Hello Family and Hello Kitty Friends and the novelty...


The White House Speaks
Craig Allen Smith
0275943941
Apr 1994
Hardcover
·
 
Review
“....this book demonstrates the strengths of reasoned rhetorical criticisms, original research, and solid chapter bibliographies. Smith and Smith have explicated the nexus of political rhetoric and rhetorical politics, so their book warrents the attention of students in those allied disciplines.”–The Journal Of American History
“The book is worthy reading for all concerned with presidential talk and the contemporary state of our chief executive office.”–Presidential Studies Quarterly

Book Description
This work treats presidential leadership as persuasive communication. The major theories of presidential leadership found in the literature establish the central role of persuasion, and introduce the interpretive systems approach to political...


Mr. and Mrs. Smith
Cathy East Dubowski
0060785594
May 2005
Mass Market Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Angelina Jolie and Brad Pitt star in a slick romantic adventure comedy in the vein of True Lies and Prizzi's Honor.After winning free sessions with a marriage counsellor as a grab-bag gift at a suburban holiday party, a young couple discovers that they're in a dead-end marriage. But that's not all they discover - unbeknown to the other, each spouse is a covert assassin working at a rival agency, and their next assignment is to kill each other! This book tells their wild story as each confides it to their therapist.    

About the Author
Cathy East Dubowski is a widely published author of media-related books. Her titles include Never Been Kissed, 7th Heaven, Four Years With the Camden Family and several in the Sabrina, the Teenage Witch series.


Rabbit Health in the 21st Century Second Edition
Kathy Smith
0595281370
June 2003
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
This user-friendly book on pet rabbit health from a caretakerÂ’s perspective is written for people with little or no medical or veterinary background. Its goal is to help rabbit owners play a more active, informed role in their rabbitÂ’s health care decisions. It should never substitute for a trip to the veterinarian!

The bookÂ’s predecessor, Rabbit Health 101, received a favorable review in Exotic DVM Veterinary Magazine. The revised edition incorporates feedback from veterinarians across the country and includes the latest information for the new millennium.

Topics include: Choosing and establishing a relationship with a veterinarian Symptoms and safe treatment options for a variety of conditions Diagnostic tests and how to understand what they tell your...



Kathy Smith's Flex Appeal: Look Great and Feel Sexy at Any Age
Kathy Smith
044669228X
February 2004
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Maintaining sex appeal is a growing topic of concern for women of all ages. Not only is it vital to maintaining an overall sense of self-worth, it is an important part of enjoying life. Now, in a breakthrough program aimed at reawakening sensual energy, Kathy Smith combines the wisdom of the East and West. Drawing on ancient yoga techniques, and with the help of Western medical experts, she reveals new ways to refine the senses that keep one feeling healthy and sexy. KATHY SMTIH'S FELX APPEAL includes the "Body Success System" which combines: * Movement and dance exercises * Tantric yoga techniques * Nutritional advice * Personal guidance for better body image * And more. As readers increase their flex appeal they'll enjoy the additional benefits of greater energy and feelings of self-worth, a stronger urogenital...


Family Fun
Kathy Smith
0823959007
Jan 2002
Hardcover
·
 


Kathy Smith's Getting Better All the Time: Shape up, Eat Smart, Feel Great!
Kathy Smith
0446674532
February 1999
Paperback
·
 
From Library Journal
Mere exercise is passe; one now follows a total diet/exercise/attitude program. Here, two fitness mavens offer their respective plans. Smith, known for her WalkFit program, aims to establish "optimal" eating habits by outlining a food plan for three different body types, although she is rather vague on the distinctions. Menus and recipes emphasize a proper balance among carbohydrates, fats, and proteins. The accompanying exercise regimen consists of aerobics, weight training, and stretching. Walsh is a top New York City aerobics instructor and personal trainer whose DIVA (Determination, Integrity, Vitality, and Aspiration) plan aims at building self-esteem along with strength. Walsh concentrates primarily on exercise, also covering aerobics, weights, and stretches, with sets of activities linked to ascending...


Gold Medal CCC Company 1538
Kathy Mays Smith
1563116421
Nov 2001
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
The men who served in the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) exemplified a strong work ethic. Their families were in financial need, and The Great Depression of the 1930s left 25% of the work force jobless and another 29% of men, ages 15 - 24, able to find only part time jobs. The economic situation was compounded by depletion of forests, unwise methods of farming, and destruction of national resources which had produced a "Dust Bowl" from the Rocky Mountains to Illinois and Texas to Idaho and Nebraska. In 1932, Presidential Candidate Franklin Delano Roosevelt promised to provide jobs for one million young men doing conservation work. Sworn into office in March 1933, on March 31, 1933, FDR signed the Emergency Conservation Corps act creating the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC). FDR wanted 250,000 men in their camps...


Signing at School
S. Harold Collins
0931993474
April 1992
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Presents signs need in a school setting.


Kathy Smith's Walkfit for a Better Body
Kathy Smith
0446670480
June 1994
Paperback
·
 


The Texas Flower Garden: A Seasonal Guide to Bloom, Height, Color, and Texture
Kathy Huber
1586857444
April 2005
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
In this newly revised edition, The Texas Flower Garden allows you to mix and match blooms of varying heights and colors with a unique "flip-page" format, providing the expertise and freedom to create a glorious garden-even in the harsh Texas climate.

From the Back Cover
" Easy-to-use, tri-cut, flip pages allow you to mix and match plants " Growing season, height at bloom stage, propagation method, and sunlight requirements listed for every plant " Watercolor illustrations show bloom, color, and texture "Kathy's creative format will delight 'lazy gardeners!' Her promotion of hardy plants for Texas' unique growing climates will help gardeners succeed where they may have failed before using nationally written horticulture guides." Brenda Beust Smith, Houston's "Lazy Gardener"...

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.