Book Finder
    
 
> Crafts Hobbies & Gardening > Crafts Hobbies > Puppets & Puppetry
 

It's Not Easy Being Green: And Other Things to Consider
Jim Henson
1401302424
September 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
More like a book of aphoristic verse than a commemorative volume, this book collects quotes from the late Henson, as well as his characters, family members, friends and collaborators. Cheryl Henson, Jim's daughter and a current director of the Jim Henson Company, notes that some of the material comes from previously unpublished letters and personal notebooks. Henson advocates a following of one's own rainbow-"I think if you study-if you learn too much of what others have done, you may tend to take the same direction as everybody else"-and taking one's own time in doing so. ("No time is wasted time," says Cantus Fraggle.) Though some thoughts border on treacly ("When I was young, my ambition was to be one of the people who made a difference in this world...It's a wonderful life and I love it"), most-especially...


Puppetry
Eileen Blumenthal
0810955873
June 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
There is much more to puppetry than Jim Henson's creations or children's puppet shows, as this thoroughly researched book makes abundantly clear. Through her narrative and 350 illustrations, Blumenthal, a professor of theater arts, takes the reader through an exhaustive history of the puppet world, from prehistoric times to Tony-winning Broadway hit Avenue Q. Blumenthal's approach is different than that of previous historians: rather than giving the "where, when and how" and dividing her work by region or time period, she employs a thematic approach, including, among others, chapters on puppet characters, sex and puppets in politics. This approach pays off, and the photos here range from an African fertility puppet to the iconic Miss Piggy to a disturbing likeness of Margaret Thatcher wielding a meat cleaver....


It's Not Easy Being Green
Jim Henson
1401383297
Sept 2005
Audio Compact Disc - Unabridged
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
More like a book of aphoristic verse than a commemorative volume, this book collects quotes from the late Henson, as well as his characters, family members, friends and collaborators. Cheryl Henson, Jim's daughter and a current director of the Jim Henson Company, notes that some of the material comes from previously unpublished letters and personal notebooks. Henson advocates a following of one's own rainbow-"I think if you study-if you learn too much of what others have done, you may tend to take the same direction as everybody else"-and taking one's own time in doing so. ("No time is wasted time," says Cantus Fraggle.) Though some thoughts border on treacly ("When I was young, my ambition was to be one of the people who made a difference in this world...It's a wonderful life and I love it"), most-especially...


The Complete Book of Puppetry
George Latshaw
048640952X
March 2000
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
An expert conducts readers through every stage of the puppeteer’s art in this enthusiastic and abundantly illustrated guide. The author explains how to construct several types of puppets and presents a series of exercises for developing distinctive voices for characters and for translating human body language into puppet movement. Other chapters focus on designing stages and puppet environments, writing and adapting plays, directing productions, and performance-related tips. Over 150 black-and-white illus.


Master Puppeteer
Katherine Paterson
0064402819
March 1989
Paperback
·
 
-- School Library Journal
"Excellent wrting and irresistible intrigue." (Starred review)

-- Publishers Weekly
"A brilliant novel. Compelling drama, swift and exciting."

See all Editorial Reviews


Marionettes
Helen Fling
0486229092
June 1973
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
The complete book of marionette craft. Solid, easy-to-follow advice and over 400 illus.


The Wisdom of Big Bird (and the Dark Genius of Oscar the Grouch): Lessons from a Life in Feathers
Caroll Spinney
0375507817
April 2003
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
Those who grew up watching Big Bird probably never gave much thought to the person beneath the feathers. But Spinney's been inside Big Bird since Sesame Street's inception in 1969, and he takes enormous pride in this honor. "Big Bird has opened up new worlds to me," he writes, and he shares some of those worlds in this simple book. He tells how he got to Sesame Street (he was working on a television show, Bozo's Big Top, and met Jim Henson at a puppetry festival) and recounts his adventures as the bird, interspersing them with basic life lessons. Some work better than others: the chapter "Find Compassion" tells the pleasant tale of how, one winter night, Spinney helped an elderly man home; yet the chapter "Eat Your Veggies," concerning Spinney meeting various first ladies, is somewhat perplexing. Although the...


Dummy Days
Kelly Asbury
1883318289
July 2003
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
Bringing back the best of the Golden Age of ventriloquism, Dummy Days profiles the five consummate performers who turned a vaudevillian gimmick into an American art form: the legendary Edgar Bergen, the surreal Senor Wences, the innovative Paul Winchell, the versatile Jimmy Nelson and the invincible Shari Lewis. Also featured in Dummy Days: *Over 200 rare photographs *Foreword by Leonard Maltin *Afterword by Jeff Dunham *"Flip book" corners to see the ventriloquists in action

About the Author
A twenty-year veteran of the animation industry, Kelly Asbury has worked as a director, storyboard artist, art director and designer for some of Hollywood's most popular animated films including Shrek (2001), The Prince of Egypt (1998), Toy Story (1995) and Beauty and the Beast (1992). In...


Making Shadow Puppets
Jill Bryant
1553370295
June 2002
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Now kids can discover the secret to creating traditional shadow puppets based on designs from around the world. With instructions for nine beautifully crafted and decorated wooden rod puppets, portable screen setups, scenery and script ideas, this book will help them put on plays that are sure to astound their family and friends -- without a shadow of a doubt! Puppet ideas include * a snake * a robot * a flying bird * a monster


American Puppetry: Collections, History and Performance
Phyllis T. Dircks (Editor)
0786418966
September 2004
Paperback
·
 
Puppeteer Phillip Huber
"Wonderful new research guide and reference...unique...fascinating history of puppet theatre. I heartily recommend it."

Book Description
Puppetry has become a significant force in contemporary theatre and thousands of puppets from various cultures and time periods have been collected by scholars, enthusiasts, and curators, who wisely realized that these material images can teach us much about the societies for which they were created. This book consists of essays by the curators of the most significant puppet collections in the United States and by leading scholars in the field. In addition to the descriptive and analytical essays on the collections, the book includes an overview of American puppetry today, a history of puppetry in the United States, and essays on the...


Puppets, Masks, and Performing Objects
John Bell
0262522934
Apr 2001
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Puppets and masks are central to some of the oldest worldwide forms of art making and performance, as well as some of the newest. In the twentieth century, French symbolists, Russian futurists and constructivists, Prague School semioticians, and avant-garde artists around the world have all explored the experimental, social, and political value of performing objects. In recent years, puppets, masks, and objects have been the focus of Broadway musicals, postmodernist theory, political spectacle, performance art, and new academic programs, for example, at the California Institute of the Arts.

This volume, which originally appeared as a special issue of TDR/The Drama Review, looks at puppets, masks, and other performing objects from a broad range of perspectives. The topics include Stephen Kaplin's new...


Puppet Mania
John Kennedy
1581803729
February 2003
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
In Puppet Mania!, a master of the art brings kids thirteen original projects they can make on their own, primarily using everyday household materials. Many of the projects the author includes here are for puppets he himself designed and created as a kid. There's Sock Puppy, Banana Buddy, Running Rabbit and a gaggle of other endearing creatures. Aside from explicit directions, Kennedy provides construction tips and troubleshooting advice. Puppet Mania! is more than just a project book: It also gives kids the know-how they need to turn their creations into characters--lip synching, body movements, eye contact and movement, and, most important, imagination. To that end, Kennedy kick-starts readers' creativity with a character worksheet that has room to enter the character's name, favorite phrase, hobbies, and physical...


Toward an Aesthetics of the Puppet
Steve Tillis
0313283591
June 1992
Hardcover
·
 
Book Description
Societies around the world have their puppet traditions, and puppetry remains a vital theatrical art; yet puppetry has received little attention in the theoretical study of theatre. The present study reviews existing literature and, through synchronic observation and analysis of puppetry in all its manifestations, offers a new aesthetic theory and vocabulary for practitioners, critics, and audiences to utilize in creating, evaluating, viewing, and describing the age-old, ever-new art of the puppet.

About the Author
Playwright, performer, and director, STEVE TILLIS has worked professionally in the theatre since 1974.


Hand Puppets
Laura Ross
0486261611
Dec 1989
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Simple instructions, clear diagrams, full-size traceable patterns for creating delightful paper-bag puppets, rod puppets for shadow plays and papier-mache puppets with cloth costumes. Special instructions for dressing and handling puppets, setting up a stage and writing and producing an original show.


Feng Shaun
Wallace and Gromit
0743254104
November 2003
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
Fans of Wallace and Gromit, get ready: now there's a book to help you naaaaaaaavigate life's spiritual ups and downs! In Feng Shaun: Discover Inner Peace with Shaun the Sheep, you'll find simple tips on handling stress, eating right, praying, forgiving and keeping an open mind. Authored by Wallace ("a middle-aged Englishman") and Gromit ("his faithful dog"), the gift book is already a bestseller across the pond, and features photos from the film A Close Shave, which also stars Shaun the Sheep. Ordinary feng shui was never this much fun. Cheese and crackers not included. Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.


Fun with Hand Shadows
Frank Jacobs
0486291766
Sept 1996
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Clear visual instructions for creating 28 delightful images from a popular 19th-century picture book: goose, deer (with antlers), birds, bunny, dog, elephant, tortoise and other engaging creatures, along with often hilarious snippets of verse by zany 20th century humorist. Engaging book recalls a pastime that has delighted children and adults for generations.


Puppets
Susan Canizares
0439045673
May 1999
Paperback
·
 
Card catalog description
Simple text and photographs introduce different kinds of puppets.

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.