Book Finder
    
 
> Literature & Fiction > Authors A-Z > Nin Anais
 

Henry and June: From the Unexpurgated Diary of Anas Nin
Anais Nin
015640057X
October 1990
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
This bestseller covers a single momentous year during Nin’s life in Paris, when she met Henry Miller and his wife, June. “Closer to what many sexually adventuresome women experience than almost anything I’ve ever read....I found it a very erotic book and profoundly liberating” (Alice Walker). The source of a major motion picture from Universal. Preface by Rupert Pole; Index.


The Diary of Anais Nin, Vol. 1
Anais Nin
0156260255
June 1969
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
This celebrated volume begins when Nin is about to publish her first book and ends when she leaves Paris for New York. Edited and with a Preface by Gunther tuhlmann; Index.


Delta of Venus: Erotica
Anais Nin
0156029030
February 2004
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
In Delta of Venus Anaïs Nin penned a lush, magical world where the characters of her imagination possess the most universal of desires and exceptional of talents. Among these provocative stories, a Hungarian adventurer seduces wealthy women then vanishes with their money; a veiled woman selects strangers from a chic restaurant for private trysts; and a Parisian hatmaker named Mathilde leaves her husband for the opium dens of Peru. Delta of Venus is an extraordinarily rich and exotic collection from the master of erotic writing.






Fire
Anais Nin
0156003902
July 1996
Paperback
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
This selection from Nin's uncensored diaries portrays her continuing affairs with, among others, Henry Miller and Otto Rank. Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Booklist
Less shocking than Incest (1992), the third volume of Nin's provocative and provoking uncensored diaries finds our madly scribbling femme fatale in New York, where she's gone to get away from her doggedly loyal husband and from adored lover Henry Miller and indulge her fancy for analyst Otto Rank. Once again, Nin is blithely honest about her profound dishonesty, admitting that she loves telling "marvelous lies" to the men who desire her. She tires of Rank just as Miller and her husband catch up with her, then, suddenly, enters a whole new realm of potent romance with a fiery man of...


Tropic of Cancer
Henry Miller
0802131786
June 1987
Paperback
·
 
Book Review
No punches are pulled in Henry Miller's most famous work. Still pretty rough going for even our jaded sensibilities, but Tropic of Cancer is an unforgettable novel of self-confession. Maybe the most honest book ever written, this autobiographical fiction about Miller's life as an expatriate American in Paris was deemed obscene and banned from publication in this country for years. When you read this, you see immediately how much modern writers owe Miller.

The Merriam-Webster Encyclopedia of Literature
Autobiographical novel by Henry Miller, published in France in 1934 and, because of censorship, not published in the United States until 1961. Written in the tradition of Walt Whitman and Henry David Thoreau, it is a monologue about Miller's picaresque life as an impoverished...


2006 365 Meditations, Reflections & Restoratives for Women Who Do Too Much Page-A-Day Box Calendar
Anne Wilson Schaef
0761136711
June 2005
Box Calendar
·
 
Book Description
A rock of support that women rely on year after year, this perennially bestselling calendar keeps the spirit positive with a daily empathy, smart advice, and healing humor. Learn to identify and draw from the sources of strength that are all around us. Try to let go of resentment and anger. Take a close look at the technology in your life-is it helping or controlling you? Ways to find positive outlets fro stress, banish defensiveness, and rediscover monotasking, plus quotes from Maya Angelou, Anais Nin, Oprah Winfrey, Dolly Parton, Zora Neale Hurston, and Rosalind Russell.


New Diary: How to Use a Journal for Self-Guidance and Expanded Creativity
Tristine Rainer
0874771501
January 1978
Paperback
·
 
Publisher's Weekly
Perceptive and readable from start to finish.

Los Angeles Times
Extensively researched, useful...all you've wanted to know.

See all Editorial Reviews


Incest: From "a Journal of Love": The Unexpurgated Diary of Anais Nin, 1932-1934
Anais Nin
0156443007
September 1993
Paperback
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
Picking up where Henry and June (1986) left off, this portion of Nin's diary, which was cut from the expurgated editions published in her lifetime, records her steamy love affair with Henry Miller in Paris, but here her intense adoration gives way to disillusionment. She describes Miller as crude, egotistic, imitative, childishly irresponsible, "a madman." Her real focus, however, is her father, Joaquin Nin, a Spanish pianist and aristocratic Don Juan who seduced her after a 20-year absence. Her graphic account of their lovemaking and of her incestuous romantic feelings is fairly shocking. Nin sought absolution from her psychiatrist and lover, Otto Rank, who advised her to bed her father, then dump him as punishment for abandoning her when she was 10. Nin's ornate, hothouse prose is much rawer than the chiseled...


1934-1939
Anais Nin
0156260263
Mar 1970
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Beginning with Nin's arrival in New York, this volume is filled with the stories of her analytical patients. There is a shift in emphasis also as Nin becomes aware of the inevitable choice facing the artist in the modern world. "Sensitive and frank...[Nin's] diary is a dialogue between flesh and spirit" (Newsweek). Edited and with a Preface by Gunther Stuhlmann; Index.


Little Birds: Erotica
Anais Nin
0156029049
February 2004
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Evocative and superbly erotic, Little Birds is a powerful journey into the mysterious world of sex and sensuality. From the beach towns of Normandy to the streets of New Orleans, these thirteen vignettes introduce us to a covetous French painter, a sleepless wanderer of the night, a guitar-playing gypsy, and a host of others who yearn for and dive into the turbulent depths of romantic experience.





Diary of Anais Nin Vol 3 1939-1944
Anais Nin
0156260271
Mar 1971
Paperback
·
 


The Diary of Anais Nin
Anais Nin
015626028X
Oct 1972
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
The author's experiences in Greenwich Village, where she defends young writers against the Establishment, and her trip across the country in an old Ford to California and Mexico. "[Nin is] one of the most extraordinary and unconventional writers of this century" (New York Times Book Review). Edited and with a Preface by Gunther Stuhlmann; Index.


50 Greatest Love Letters of All Time
David H. Lowenherz
0517223333
January 2005
Hardcover
·
 
From Publishers Weekly
"The act of writing," proposes Lowenherz, "gives us a chance to reflect in private before exposing our heart." Hence the value of the love letter as an abiding expression of the writer's feelings in all their depth and complexity. A prominent collector and dealer in letters and historical memorabilia, Lowenherz presents letters (or fragments thereof) that collectively express the full range of amorous passion, from blind adoration to angst-ridden vituperation. Included are the romantic outpourings of celebrated writers George Sand, Virginia Woolf, Ernest Hemingway, Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald whose literary talents make their correspondence a model for any aspiring lover. Perhaps less gifted in their command of language, but certainly no less heartfelt, are selections from such notables as Harry Truman, Abigail...


Diary of Anais Nin
Gunther Stuhlmann
0156260301
Mar 1975
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
The author's experiences in Mexico, California, New York, and Paris, her psychoanalysis, and her experiment with LSD. "Through her own struggling and dazzling courage [Nin has] shown women groping with and growing with the world" (Minneapolis Tribune). Edited and with a Preface by Gunther Stuhlmann; Index.


Best Women's Erotica 2006
Violet Blue (Editor)
1573442232
December 2005
Paperback
·
 
San Francisco Bay Guardian
"Gets racier every year."

On Our Backs
"One of the hottest, steamiest books I've read."

See all Editorial Reviews

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.