Book Finder
    
 
> Literature & Fiction > Authors A-Z > Tate Allen
 

You Only Think God Is Silent: Hearing God in the Defining Moments of Our Lives
Julie Ann Allen
1598860003
October 2005
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Julie Allen's husband was buried alive on a work site, and she experienced a mountain of emotions. First chaos, then a fog of grief, confusion, anger, pain, questions, and then a profound realization—God certainly was not silent!


Stonewall Jackson
Allen Tate
1879941023
Jan 1991
Paperback
·
 
New Republic, 1928
I defy anyone of uncynical mind to read this book and not to have another hero in his heart.

Boston Transcript, 1928
It is one of the most delectable, shrewd, and instructive of military biographies, a wholly delightful and often challenging piece of work.

See all Editorial Reviews


Collected Poems 1919-1976
Allen Tate
0374514739
Oct 1978
Paperback
·
 


Essentials of TAT and Other Storytelling Techniques Assessment
Hedwig Teglasi
0471394696
December 2001
Textbook Paperback
·
 
Review
This volume continues an exemplary series in which most authors have successful/influential earlier volumes that have been optimally redone in a relatively consistent format for the series. Each book demonstrates a carefulness of focus on "essentials" for a standard reference oriented to students as well as professional assessors.

More specifically, the Teglasi volume is consistent with the entire series and of comparable quality with other volumes. The book will stimulate teaching of storytelling tests in professional psychology doctoral programs in a more responsible manner than heretofore. This book can potentially foster the usage of objective scores for the TAT and assist in restoration of its credibility for low inference interpretation by reducing a current vulnerability to criticism as a "projective...



Allen Tate: A Recollection
Walter Sullivan
0807114812
November 1988
Hardcover
·
 


Allen Tate: Orphan of the South
Thomas A. Underwood
0691115680
January 2004
Paperback
·
 
Fred Hobson, The Atlantic Monthly
Not only comprehensive and well researched . . . but also insightful --This text refers to the Hardcover edition.

From Booklist
Some biographers depict the triumph of poetic genius as a thing fated and inevitable. Underwood discards all such illusions in this compelling account of Allen Tate's formative years. Indeed, painstaking research reveals how close this literary genius came to losing his way and squandering his gifts by becoming a political pamphleteer. To uncover the reasons for this near-tragedy, Underwood plumbs a difficult childhood during which Tate's parents burdened him with the myth of beleaguered southern virtue. In his self-lacerating responses to the imperatives of that myth, Tate vacillated. His true artistic vocation allied...


John Crowe Ransom and Allen Tate: At Odds about the Ends of History and the Mystery of Nature
Marion Montgomery
0786414359
March 2003
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
The Fugitives were an influential literary group that began at Vanderbilt University in the 1920s. Although the philosophically driven alliance was short-lived, two of its members, John Crowe Ransom and Allen Tate, went on to become influential Southern poets and theorists. In this work, a self-proclaimed third-generation Fugitive-Agrarian concentrates on the history and mystery of nature. The author supports the recovery of fundamental principles required for the economic, social and political health of our communities. He explores Fugitive-Agrarian concepts of nature, history, science, industry, person, family and community. His discussion focuses particular attention on John Crowe Ransom and Allen Tate and how they diverged in their philosophies of intellect and the written word.

About...


Last Alternatives: Allen Tate
R. K. Meiners
0838315941
September 1972
Library Binding
·
 
Book Description
A discussion of the philosophic and poetic concepts of the leading American critic, publicist and poet.THIS TITLE IS CITED AND RECOMMENDED BY: Books for College Libraries.


Cleanth Brooks and Allen Tate
Cleanth Brooks
0826212077
Dec 1998
Hardcover
·
 
From Library Journal
In the tradition of Cleanth Brooks and Robert Penn Warren: A Literary Correspondence (LJ 4/15/98), this collection of more than 250 letters contains all known correspondence between two of the most influential figures in 20th-century American literature, both Southern Agrarians and proponents of the New Criticism. Their correspondence testifies to their mutual respect and admiration as the stature of each writer grew over time. The letters reveal personal events in the lives of the correspondents as well as professional achievements that helped shape literary history. While each man's claim to fame lay in his written output, an ironic recurring theme here is the desire to get together for long talks because, as Brooks noted, "letters...are not an adequate substitute for real conversation." Vinh, a reference...


Years of Our Friendship: Robert Lowell and Allen Tate
William Doreski
0878054294
June 1990
Hardcover
·
 


White Buildings
Hart Crane
0871401797
May 2001
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
Crane's first collection of poems, published when he was twenty-seven, displays a prodigious gift already at the height of its powers. Harold Bloom writes of Hart Crane: "Genius is a mystery resistant to reductive analysis, whether sociobiological, psychological, or historical. Like Milton, Pope, and Tennyson, the youthful Crane was a consecrated poet before he was an adolescent." White Buildings introduced Crane's poetry to a public largely unprepared for his orphic grandeur and overt homoeroticism.


Little Boats, Unsalvaged: Poems, 1992-2004
Dave Smith
0807131067
October 2005
Paperback
·
 


Jefferson Davis
Allen Tate
1879941244
Aug 1998
Paperback
·
 
Book Description
A fast-paced and compelling portrayal of the tragic figure of the Confederacy's only president.

Card catalog description
Written by a young Southern intellectual while living in New York in the late twenties, this spirited study of the Confederacy's fallen leader is highly critical of Davis's flaws, yet profoundly sympathetic to the Southern cause.

See all Editorial Reviews


Fathers
Allen Tate
0804001081
March 1959
Paperback
·
 


Essays of Four Decades
Allen Tate
1882926293
June 1999
Hardcover
·
 
From the Inside Flap
Allen Tate (1899-1979) was one of the twentieth century's most celebrated literary critics and poets. A founding member of the Fugitive poets and a contributor to the Southern Agrarian manifesto I'll Take My Stand, Tate was a leading exponent of the New Criticism. In these essays, first collected in 1968, Tate reminds turn-of-the-century readers that the study of literature and poetry is a metaphysical undertaking rooted in what he called "the symbolic imagination," which operates through analogy "of the human to the divine, of the natural to the supernatural, of the low to the high, of time to eternity." In jettisoning this imagination in his reach for pure intellect man has, says Tate, embraced not pure spirituality, but pure nothingness. This collection includes such classic essays as "The New Provincialism,"...


Mumford, Tate, Eiseley: Watchers in the Night
Jr. Carrithers
0807116505
December 1991
Hardcover
·
 

  ©BookFinder USA LLC.
  All rights reserved.